Seitan is a popular vegan substitute for meat.
It is made from wheat gluten and water and is often promoted as a high-protein, low-carb alternative to animal protein.
However, there are some concerns about the possible negative effects of consuming a product made entirely of gluten.
This article will review the pros and cons of eating seitan and help you decide whether it is a good fit for your diet.
Seitan (pronounced “say-tan”) is a vegan meat substitute made entirely out of hydrated
gluten, the main protein found in wheat.
It is sometimes also called wheat gluten, wheat meat, wheat protein or just gluten.
Seitan is produced by kneading wheat flour with water to develop sticky strands of gluten protein. The dough is then rinsed to wash away all of the starch.
What remains is a sticky mass of pure gluten protein that can be seasoned, cooked and used in vegan or vegetarian dishes as a substitute for meat.
Seitan can be purchased pre-made in the refrigerated or frozen sections of most grocery stores. It can also be made at home by mixing vital wheat gluten (purified dried gluten powder) with water.